2015 UQCCR Awards - Recognising our world-class researchers

4 Jan 2016

The University of Queensland’s Centre for Clinical Research (UQCCR) held their annual awards in December 2015. The awards ceremony presents an opportunity to recognise significant research contributions and to showcase the work of our Research Higher Degree students, Early Career researchers and world-class researchers.

Professor David Copland received the UQCCR Researcher of the Year award, Dr Nadeeka Dissanayaka and Dr. Carlos Saloman-Gallo were both awarded the UQCCR Early Career Researcher Awards; followed by Ms. Hanna Thomas and Dr Patrick Harris who received UQCCR’s Outstanding Scholar Awards respectively.

Throughout the 2015 year, UQCCR also presented its researchers with a publication of the month award. The list of winners are here.

Professor David Paterson, UQCCR’s Acting Director presided over the awards and Professor Greg Rice congratulated our winners.

UQCCR are grateful to Shimadzu Australia and Siemens Healthcare, our generous donors, who made these awards possible.

In 2015, Shimadzu Australia and UQCCR have partnered to nurture research and to develop products related to clinical research and diagnostics. Prior to that in 2014, M+BS Excellence Awards acknowledged Shimadzu Australia’s contribution by presenting it with the Excellence in Industry Engagement Award.

The recently officially opened $24 million Herston Imaging Research Facility, is a collaboration involving four of Queensland’s most influential research institutions: University of Queensland, QUT, QIMR Berghofer and the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital. Siemens Healthcare has a master research collaboration with this facility, which will spearhead research in areas such as cancer and mental health.

Media: Jenny Johnston, Marketing Communications Officer, 07 3346 6041, 0438 753 471 or j.johnston2@uq.edu.au